Stevie Wonder, Alvin Ailey to Receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

Stevie Wonder

Each year, the White House grants the Presidential Medal of Freedom to individuals who have made major social, political, and cultural contributions to the country. It’s recognized as the highest civilian honor. Later this month, President Obama will bestow the medal on nineteen distinguished recipients including musician Stevie Wonder, murdered civil rights activists James ChaneyAndrew Goodman, and Michael Schwerner, and notable choreographer Alvin Ailey.

“I look forward to presenting these nineteen bold, inspiring Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honor,” said the President in a statement. “From activists who fought for change to artists who explored the furthest reaches of our imagination; from scientists who kept America on the cutting edge to public servants who help write new chapters in our American story, these citizens have made extraordinary contributions to our country and the world.”

Last year’s Presidential Medal of Freedom recipients included Bill Clinton and Oprah Winfrey.

article via

One thought on “Stevie Wonder, Alvin Ailey to Receive Presidential Medal of Freedom”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.