101 Independent Black-Owned Businesses to Support for #BlackoutBlackFriday

From afrobella.com:

Things weren’t supposed to go this way. This was supposed to be a buildup to Thanksgiving week, with fun, lighthearted posts about recipes and Black Friday deals. Yay! Shopping!  And now, none of that seems right anymore. Not after Ferguson. On Monday November 24th, in an evening announcement that seemed poorly planned to say the least, it was announced that the grand jury did not indict Darren Wilson in the killing of Michael Brown. What does that mean? That means that Darren Wilson gets to walk free, after all of the protests and righteous anger and calls for justice.

CNN predicts there will most likely be a more stringent federal probe and a wrongful death lawsuit – click here to read their predictions. For the black community on the ground in Ferguson as well as in major US cities like NYC, Los Angeles, Washington DC and Chicago, it meant protesting in the streets and making our voices heard in the dead of the night. And so many of us are now left wondering “now what?” How can we express this rage and this pain caused by a system that is broken, a system that fails to value our lives as equal? How can we speak truth to power and have the hope of making some kind of difference, some kind of essential statement that proves that we have value greater than what society seems to perceive?

Image via BlackoutFriday.org

The overwhelming cry I’m seeing from my online community is BOYCOTT. Some people are calling it BLACKOUT Friday. Some are calling it Black Owned Friday. Some are using the hashtags #BlackOutBlackFriday, #NotOneDime, #HandsUpDontSpend, #BoycottBlackFriday, #BrownFriday and #ShopBlack, others have adopted the slogan No Justice, No Profit. No matter what you call it, the sentiment is the same and the statement is clear. Economic activism is a time-honored tactic that notably proved effective during the Montgomery bus boycott.  It is a way to send a message to the government, big business, all while simultaneously bolstering our nationwide community. Click to read more about the impending boycott via the Chicago Defender, the Washington Post, and MSNBC. Click here to visit BlackoutFriday.org, which breaks it all down.

Last week I shared this Huffington Post piece on black owned Etsy shops and it was pointed out to me that this post was from 2012, and surely there were more new black owned Etsy shops since then. Gina of What About Our Daughters did an additional post featuring Creative Black Women You Can Support on Cyber Monday. This is my attempt to update the list including the links people dropped via my Facebook wall, and to also include businesses that aren’t on Etsy – especially some of the natural hair brands I’ve come to know and love through the years. Here is my definitive list of 101 black owned businesses that could use your support this holiday season and beyond. If I missed yours, PLEASE drop a link in the comments.

101 Black Owned Natural Hair, Beauty and

Natural Hair

Alikay Naturals – http://www.alikaynaturals.com/

Amazing Botanicals – http://amazingbotanicals.bigcartel.com/

Curls – http://www.curls.biz/

EDEN BodyWorks – http://eden-bodyworks.myshopify.com/

Karen’s Body Beautiful – http://www.karensbodybeautiful.com/

Kinky Curly – http://kinky-curly.com/

Koils By Nature – http://www.koilsbynature.com/

My Honeychild – http://www.myhoneychild.com/

Tropic Isle Living – http://www.tropicisleliving.com/

Shea Moisture – http://www.sheamoisture.com/

Soultanicals – http://www.soultanicals.com/

Sunny Isle JBCO – http://www.sunnyislejamaicanblackcastoroil.com/

Oyin Handmade – http://www.oyinhandmade.com/

Qhemet Biologics – http://www.qhemetbiologics.com/

Uncle Funky’s Daughter – http://unclefunkysdaughter.com/

Huetiful – http://www.huetifulsalon.com/

Lawrence Ray Concepts – http://www.lawrencerayconcepts.com/

The Detangle Brush – http://www.detanglebrush.com/detangle-brush.html

WonderCurl – http://www.wondercurl.com/

Naturalista Cosmetics – http://www.artfire.com/ext/shop/home/juicyleavein

BeeMine Products – http://beemineproducts.com/

TGIN (Thank God I’m Natural) – http://www.thankgodimnatural.com/

Jane Carter Solution – http://www.janecartersolution.com/

Coco Curls – http://cococurls.com/

Lace Natural – http://www.lacenatural.com/

Makeup + Nail Polish

Fashion Fair Cosmetics – http://www.fashionfair.com/

Ginger + Liz – http://www.gingerandliz.com/

Black Opal – http://www.blackopalbeauty.com/

BlackUP Cosmetics – http://www.blackupcosmetics.com/

Iman Cosmetics – http://www.imancosmetics.com/

Magnolia Makeup – http://www.magnoliamakeup.com/

Mischo Beauty – http://www.mischobeauty.com/

Hue Noire – http://huenoir.com/

Joy Lorraine Cosmetics – http://www.joylorrainecosmetics.com/

Lamik – http://www.lamik-beauty.com/

Polish and Company – http://polishandcompany.com/

Valana Minerals – https://valanaminerals.com/

Vera Moore Cosmetics – http://www.veramoorecosmetics.com/

 

Skincare, Bath and Body

BelleButters – http://www.bellebutters.com/

Beautiful Body Butters – https://www.etsy.com/shop/beautifulbodybutters

Body Love Beauty – https://www.etsy.com/shop/BodyLoveBeauty

Ixora Botanical Beauty – http://ixorabotanicalbeauty.bigcartel.com/

LaBella Body Care – http://shop.labellabodycare.com/

Itiba Beauty – http://www.itibabeauty.com/

Nyah Beauty – http://nyahbeauty.com/

azur soleil organics – https://www.etsy.com/shop/AzurSoleilOrganics

DermHa – http://dermha.com/about/

Tasha Hussey Body – www.etsy.com/shop/tashahusseybody

Skin Deep Body Care – http://skindeepnaturalbodycare.com/

Asili Body Products – https://www.etsy.com/shop/asilibodyproducts

Royal By Nature – www.etsy.com/shop/ROYALbyNATURE

Luxe Pour Homme by G – https://www.etsy.com/shop/LuxePourHommebyG

Sugamommy- https://www.etsy.com/shop/Sugamommy

JD NatLady – https://www.etsy.com/shop/jdnatladyscreations

Nubia Body Delights – https://www.etsy.com/shop/NubiaBodyDelights

Ruth & Mae’s – http://www.ruthandmaes.com/

Emily Jayne – http://www.byemilyjayne.com/

Pooka Pure and Simple – http://www.pookapureandsimple.com/

 

Beauty Boxes/Subscriptions

CurlBox – http://www.curlbox.com/

Cocotique – http://www.cocotique.com/

We Are Onyx – http://weareonyx.com/

CurlKit – http://www.curlkitshop.com/

 

Fashion

Chocolate Sushi Couture – https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chocolate-Sushi-Couture/312085040569?sk=info&tab=page_info

Dress Maker By Olivia – https://www.facebook.com/DressMakerByOlivia?pnref=lhc

Jibri – www.etsy.com/shop/jibrionline

KAntoinette Lingerie – https://www.etsy.com/shop/kantoinette

Monif C – http://monifc.com/

Nakimuli – http://www.nakimuli.com/

Onion – http://www.whitneymero.com/

Shavonne Dorsey – http://www.shavonnedorsey.com/

Sofistafunk – http://sofistafunk.com/

Quelly Rue – http://www.quellyrue.bigcartel.com/

Yes Lioness – http://yeslioness.com/

 

Jewelry

CandidArt Accessories – http://www.candidartaccessories.com/

Brassfly Studio – https://www.etsy.com/shop/brassflystudio

Lingua Negra – linguanigra.com

Simone’s Boutique – www.etsy.com/shop/SimonesBoutique

Rachel Stewart Jewelry – http://rachelstewartjewelry.com/

Peace Images Jewelry – http://peaceimages.bigcartel.com/

Jypsea Outlet Shop –  https://www.etsy.com/shop/JypseaOUTLETShop

MBellish by Charmega – https://www.etsy.com/shop/MBellishbycharmega

JazJewelz – https://www.etsy.com/shop/Jazjewelz

Rock Candy Earrings – www.etsy.com/shop/RockCandyEarrings

Pieces by Keke – https://www.etsy.com/shop/piecesbykeke

 

Art, Collectibles and Décor

African American Art – www.facebook.com/AfricanAmericanArt/

Divine Violette – cool masquerade masks – https://www.etsy.com/shop/DivineViolette

Blended Designs – www.etsy.com/shop/BlendedDesignsLLC

Tamesha Artistry www.etsy.com/shop/TameshaArtistry

Christoff Davis – https://www.etsy.com/shop/ChristoffDavis

Reflektion Design https://www.etsy.com/shop/reflektiondesign

Veronica Marche Illustration and Design – http://www.veronicamarche.com/

 

Candles

Simply Scents by Shan – http://www.simplyscentsbyshan.com/

 

Gourmet Foods

Luxe Lollipops – www.etsy.com/shop/LuxeLollipops

Sugar Puddin Café – https://www.etsy.com/shop/sugarpuddincafe

 

Accessories

Cocoa Girl in Lush – https://www.etsy.com/shop/cocoagirlnlush

Keep on Givin – https://www.etsy.com/shop/keepongivin

Shepiji – https://www.etsy.com/shop/Shepiji

Lily Bow Originals https://www.etsy.com/shop/LilyBowOriginals

Rogue Stitches – https://www.etsy.com/shop/RogueStitches

Sew Regal Embroidery – https://www.etsy.com/shop/sewregal

Ladieloops – http://www.ladieloops.com/

Those are 101 businesses that focus on beauty, hair, style, jewelry and accessories. There are SO many businesses that I know I missed that need support. If yours is one of them or if you know of one, please leave a link in the comments so we can see and support them! This post could be a great ongoing resource for many of us who are seeking this info.

I hope you have a peaceful, happy and delicious Thanksgiving feast. Although this week may make you question so many things, never question that we have much to be thankful for. Be thankful for life. For health. For family. For friends. For community. For the future, when we can make the change that we want to see in the world.

article via afrobella.com

6 thoughts on “101 Independent Black-Owned Businesses to Support for #BlackoutBlackFriday”

  1. My father created a hanger that is used to hang ties and scarves and anything else. Check us out at our website! If your dad has everything else this is the one gift he doesn’t have.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.